Today, I explore the futility of texting. This past week has been particularly bad regarding my “friends” and texting, which is a method, as Dad said, of putting your own thoughts out there without regard for the other person’s feelings. And without their response.

So I wonder why people persist in texting. Sure, if you’re at work and cannot pick up your phone for personal reasons, texting is okay.
Or maybe you’re vomiting? I dunno.
There is no humor in texting. No tonality. What is key: Texting has no frame of reference.This man, whom I call “The Dude,” 33 years old or so, keeps TEXTING me for a date. I heard his voice once many years ago.  I’ve never replied to his texts. So, I ask you, how and why does he continue?
After three texts in one day, the last which asked, “What is WRONG?” I finally responded:
I am 44. I work full-time. And I despise texts. Sorry.
Now, we’re done before we started, and gosh, am I happy for that.
I showed my sister how to text. Bad girl/bad move. Since then, I have rarely received a phone call from her; can’t really remember my sister’s voice :) But I do know when she’s commuting on the train, because she texts me that she is. In all fairness, she’s busy and has a daughter, but I am being truthful. It’s simply odd.
I received thousands of texts over the past year from M, who seems to gravitate to it instead of speaking. They are sent with complete disregard for where I am, what I am doing, and last but not least, for how I am feeling.
Today, I await a call from a woman who texted me, not spoke with me, about how much she’d pay me to work for her. I will not sit and wait for the phone call. Simply because, due to bad communication, we have not been able to discuss anything.
I sent a text two weeks ago quoting a bad Ashton Kutcher flick. I added to the text, “This is from a bad Ashton Kutcher flick.” The recipient had no frame of reference, read it seriously, and became angry.
The worst inundations of texts, without frame of reference, came from M all night last Monday. I was at my first-time meeting of a Type One Diabetes Support Group when he began texting me about his landlord, name of Cookie.
Lookie, lookie, here cums Cookie, he wrote. Since he had insulted his landlord’s appearance, I was dumbfounded. And I was at a meeting with, um, diabetics. So I let him know that.
Ironic that I was assaulted by continual texts about a cookie while at a diabetes support group. Anyhoo, he continued: Cookie has been letting me stay in her room.
This one was simply odd: Cookie and I are getting closer. It is evolving naturally and caringly.
Are we talking about snacks at Whole Foods, or about a relationship?
There were no smileys on these texts, and they continued. All night.
The last few were about having sex with Cookie, and then a reference to his ex, who wanted to have sex with him.
Reminder: I am thousands of miles from this man. I have no idea where he is when he sends a text. So I take them at face value. The last time he chose to disappear behind texts, this ex was there at his house. I was charged $300 for stupid texts about what they were doing together. I received 203 images of the seals they viewed, and one of their french toast.frenchtoast
The end of our friendship evolved. And his texts were blocked from my telephone. Not by me, by a friend who was disgusted by the insistent texts.
Texting can be Just Socially Stupid.
The worst thing about texting may be the way those texts are Out There for the World to See. My friend reads his ex-girlfriend’s texts, just to see what she’s doing and with whom.
She’s often “Sexting,” with men, which is one of the dumbest words I’ve ever heard in my lifetime.
When I’m having dinner with a person and speaking to her face, and her phone buzzes, our conversation is over. Due to a text. Said friend begins reading a text and responding to it, as if it’s a dire emergency. 
Our conversation is over, midsentence. Midthought.
The behavior interrupts your conversation in preference for the other conversation, with a Person Who’s Not in the Room!
Wow.
Anyway, I’m off to work. Where M wrote to me that he wouldn’t text me unless I texted him. He just chose not to Get It. He sent them out for ages without response, except anger, and he continued…to text me.
At work, many women will text their children to see if they’re safe. The truth is, anyone can reply anything to a text of inquiry. “Yes, mom, I’m alone in my room, reading.” The teen could be anywhere, with anyone, and the parent would not know.
Adding a GPS to a child’s phone is a cool idea, if you’re on a TV show. I don’t think any of my friends have a GPS locator on their children’s phones.
And to those of you who would prefer to text me rather than picking up your telephone: Friendship evolves from interaction, shared life stories, loyalty, and humor. Laughter is key to my friendships. Interaction is imperative.

None of those traits are conveyed in a text. It’s often robotic.

I dislike robots. Except for Rosie, the maid from the Jetsons. She’s the bomb 🙂